Steering committee 

  • Mark Marissink, Swedish Environmental Protection Agency; (chair)
  • Tom Barry, CAFF International Secretariat; 
  • Cindy Dickson, Arctic Athabaskan Council; 
  • Vicky Johnston, Environment Canada; 
  • Aulikki Alanen, Finnish Ministry of the Environment; 
  • Inge Thaulow, Ministry of Housing, Nature and Environment, Greenland;  
  • Evgeny Syroechkovskiy, Russian Institute for Nature Conservation; 
  • Gilbert Castellanos, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Previous steering committee members

  • Bridget Larocque, Gwich’in Council International;
  • Trish Hayes, Environment Canada; 
  • Risa Smith, Environment Canada; 
  • Janet Hohn, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service; 
  • Ævar Petersen, Icelandic Institute of Natural History;
  • Esko Jaakkola, Finnish Ministry of the Environment; 
  • Tiina Kurvitz, UNEP GRID-Arendal; 
  • Christoph Zöckler, UNEP WCMC.

Lead countries 

Canada, Finland, Greenland, Sweden and the United States

Funding and support

The Arctic Biodiversity Assessment has received financial support from the following sources: Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Finland, Norway, Sweden, United States of America, the Nordic Council of Ministers, and the Chief Scientist was financed by the Danish Environmental Protection Agency as part of the environmental support programme DANCEA. 





Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Subscribe to our YouTube Channel
Join our LinkedIn Group
Check us out on Google+
Follow Us on Instagam
Follow Us on Flickr